Brewdings: Blizzard Beta Keys!

So a while back I “reported”–in quotes because you can argue whether it actually was a report–on Blizzard’s announcement about World of Warcraft’s new expansion Mists of Pandaria as well as their new annual pass.  I concluded with a promise to follow up with more news and insight–something I admittedly failed to do.


There are a variety of reasons for this.  Ultimately they are weak excuses at best, but it boils down to two things: school and Blizzard apathy.  I’m a college student, and, as such, school comes first; unless, of course, I’m distracting myself with other fun non-school related things.  And if I’m doing this, why, you ask, am I not distracting myself with WoW and other Blizzard products?

Again, there are a variety of reasons, but I’ll try and keep it simple.  A while back in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm, patch 4.3 came along and we were all finally able to fight this expansion’s main baddie, Deathwing.  Emphasis here on the “all finally able to fight…Deathwing” part.  Yes, we were all able to do so with Blizzard’s introduction of their new Looking for Raid (or is it called Raid Finder?) system.  Deathwing’s fights were simplified a bit to allow for these less organized PUGs, but finally even casual gamers could kill the incredibly massive deadly dragon.  As a casual gamer myself–remember, I have college to worry about here–I was one of many who could finally take out the final raid boss.  And I did.  And it was pretty freaking awesome.  But then something interesting happened.

I was done.  I no longer felt compelled to play WoW.  Throw in the fact that I began playing Star Wars: The Old Republic, a variety of other console games I never had the time for before, and again, yes, college, and my WoW playing habits had to take a back seat.  I had hoped that Mists of Pandaria would renew my interests in Blizzard’s flagship title.  In fact, I’m still counting on it.  Last fall I purchased the annual pass, which commits me to paying and playing for a year.  Currently, I’m paying and not playing.  One of the benefits of this pass is you get beta access to MoP and the entirety of Diablo III totally free.  So, there’s still stuff to be excited for here, right?  Perhaps for some people, sure.  However, waiting for these new gaming experiences, for me, has bred apathy and not necessarily excitement.  For one, Diablo III was supposed to have been launched months ago, and got pushed back to May.  For two (can I say this?), MoP beta keys for annual pass members began being delivered via email three or so weeks ago.  I wasn’t a lucky enough to be a recipient within any of these first few weeks–QQ.

Long of the short, my apathy is not a result of some inherent problem with Blizzard.  I’ve just been waiting a while, and this waiting has probably made me forget why I liked these franchises in the first place.  I’m hoping, again, this can change.

Last night, I finally got invitations to both MoP and DIII betas.  I’m eager to test these out and see if my mind can be changed.  I want to be excited for Blizzard again, but with SWTOR currently out (something I’m still logging hours into) and GW2 on the way, I’m distracted by the new shiny MMO’s and I’m not sure if I have the time for WoW, let alone DIII.  We shall see.

I’ll do my best to report on my experience with the betas, but I’m not making any promises.  Remember, I’m a college student!

–Ethan

Leave a Reply

