The Brews: 38 Studios Shutting Down — Bye, Bye KoA:Reckoning

It seems today that “The Brews” can pun for “the news” and “the blues.” Just after reporting on how much I’ve been enjoying playing Reckoning, I’m sad to discover that 38 Studios, developer of Reckoning, has shut down due to some financial difficulties.  You can read more about it at some of the links below.

http://kotaku.com/5913102/rumor-38-studios-shutting-down-big-huge-games

http://bostonglobe.com/business/2012/05/24/curt-schilling-studios-lays-off-entire-staff/CDRWdTYSEljF0CukMUIatL/story.html

http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain/2012/05/24/38-studios-lays-off-staff-shuts-down-big-huge-games-is-this-the-end/


There is some thought that other companies may try and buy the Amalur intellectual property but it doesn’t seem likely. The future of the Amalur universe that we could’ve hoped to see in more Reckoning DLC and the Project Copernicus Amalur mmo seems bleak. I had heard the recent news that 38 Studios was having some trouble, but I had positioned myself to speculate on the more optimistic side–not that more optimistm could hurt, but I’m not going to get my hopes up.  This is a really unfortunate turn of events for a game franchise that I was once again getting invested in.

I can keep QQing about this, but the truth is that this news hardly affects me as much as it does the 400 + employees working at 38 Studios.  My heart goes out to all of them and their families in addition to my gratitude for the hard work they put into a game and world I so enjoyed playing.

There’s not really much more that can be said at this time and we can only wait for more news to hopefully shed a more optimistic light.

Leave a Reply

